Fat Girl Back in Korea

I’ve set up shop, once again, in South Korea. I landed a few days ago and am still jet lagged but extremely grateful for my experience at home as well as feeling super optimistic about the year ahead.

I am back in my old time, Icheon. This is where I grew into the person I am today. Admittedly, it started off on a rough note at the beginning of 2012, but half a year later – I’d experienced a whole lot more of life and with some deep introspection and love for myself, I turned the experience into one of the best of my life. I am happy to be here. It is a small town with some beautiful parks. I have the most amazing apartment and my school seems nice.

I arrived back in Korea 5/6kg lighter than when I left 3 months ago. The airplane seatbelt felt looser and that was great. For the first time since 2012, I am not basing my emotions on my weight and my eating. I am feeling confident and happy in my skin and of course, would love to eat better and continue to lose weight. It’s been so freeing to deal with life without the added hatred of my body.

My visit home made me so much stronger. I really engulfed the value of family and the friends that I know will be with me for life. I was in my place, I had my people and I was surrounded by beauty. Before leaving South Africa, I took a walk on the beach alone after having a final breakfast with my mom. I said a prayer out loud, because there was no one around. I thanked the Lord for my wonderful experience at home and asked him to bless me during my upcoming year back in Korea.

I asked Him to make me more aware of the beauty in Korea, even though it is a different kind of beauty to South Africa. The truth is, there is beauty anywhere – it’s just how you perceive it. My closing thoughts were that – coming back to Korea was MY choice. Even though I was utterly bleak to return, I knew that it was what I chose to do.

I think the Lord will bless me this year coupled with the fact that I need to stay positive and see the best in the world.

8 thoughts on “Fat Girl Back in Korea

  1. So glad you made it safe! I start my “real” weight loss journey once I find a home and get it set up. I’m so ecstatic! I leave in about 9 hours for S. Korea. Woohoo!

      1. Still anxious about my size but I’m going to try to mold that energy into something positive and towards making myself healthier. This is only my second time there but this time I’ll be living in the culture instead of on the USAF military base. I’m a civilian now. I fear that I’m going to get looks and giggles at home plus and emart…. and everywhere else but I’m going to try my hardest to take it as motivation. Thank you for the offer! I’m sure I’ll take you up on that. I don’t think you are too far from me. I’ll be in Pyeongtaek. 🙂

      2. Ah, I understand. I am not sure if this will make you feel better or worse – hope better! but when I visited my school for the first time on Friday, the kid said “heavy”. I walked out of there, of course not liking that comment, but I just reminded myself that it is their culture. They do not KNOW fat or larger people and in their country, it is not necessarily rude to call someone big or to say someone has put on weight. Being at home made me feel so much more comfortable in my own skin, because in the ~real world~ people have a zillion different shapes. As long as the kid or kids don’t make a habit of calling me something along those lines, then I am fine. If they do, I need to teach them that calling someone ugly or fat is not nice. Also. people will stare at you regardless – and it may or may not be because of size. We look different and they are just ~amazed or shocked~

  2. That actually does help, a lot. I oddly don’t remember being stared at when I was there in 2009 but I was young, confident and thin and also I was oblivious. I’ll keep that in mind now though that I’m more insecure. Thank you!

  3. My husband is in osan and just got command sponsored but I am 330lbs and now afraid to come. I want to give it a shot but I don’t think I can handle what you’ve been thru

    1. Your husband is in the Air Force? Really no need to be afraid! The AFB is a mini America as it is and I promise you – Korea can be an amazing place for travel and all sorts of things. I am also finding this time around, everyone is that much more friendly. I am sure it’s because my attitude has changed. Come over, definitely, with a great, positive attitude and experience it! I hope you do ~

Leave a Reply

