No Facebook, Why Bother?

It is now Autumn in Korea and it is the one thing that I can give it credit for. Autumn is absolutely magnificent. It is nothing compared to the Autumn we have in South Africa, simply because the leaves in Korea are breathtaking. As I ride the bus to work, one long road, each tree is a different colour. From reds to orange and yellow and green and I wish it would stay this way forever. Not only are the Autumn leaves something to write home about, the sunsets are absolutely amazing. Every evening, I can stare and appreciate it.

I got off the bus early two days ago to take some photos. The time of day made it difficult to really show off the colours, but I think some of them came out quite well. With a deleted Facebook account, I suddenly wondered “Why am I taking the photos if I can’t show the entire world?” and when I thought about it some more, I realized I should share them here.

This blog has been a great place for me. I have been writing for just over one year, and I know my story is nothing special. It’s the ramblings that go on in my head and the experiences that I go through, but it is also something which makes me feel good about myself. I’ve stuck with it – through the triumph of weight loss to losing control, depression and life here in South Korea.

As promised, here are some photos of the Autumn leaves and sunset so far. I plan to visit some new places and get some more photos soon. These were done with no filter (and I hate that one has to admit that today, with a world full of instagram etc).

Image
Ansan, Gyeonggi-Do
Image
Ansan, Gyeonggi-Do
Image
Ansan, Gyeonggi-Do
Image
Ansan, Gyeonggi-Do
Image
Ansan, Gyeonggi-Do

Published by

Korea, Love and Longing

South African with a passion for writing, photography... and nothing much else. I travel the world in order to find the country I like the best. Four years in South Korea makes me a winning survivor of Google translate and charades. Currently, living in Spain. - Love

8 thoughts on “No Facebook, Why Bother?”

  1. Welcome to the world of no facebook – I did a post on my experience of living in Korea without facebook a few months ago. You should take a look when you get a chance, it definitely keeps things interesting! 😉
    Wonderful photos ~ the colors are so amazing!
    ~Andrea<3

      1. Such a good piece. And so valid. I agree with you that good friends don’t exist only via Facebook. In my opinion, if I have no way of contacting you besides Facebook – then we weren’t (good) friends to begin with.

        I just started to feel like I was mindlessly clicking on the link repeatedly all day long. I was obsessed with it, even though it offered 10% of what I found constructive or useful to my everyday existence. However, not having it – I don’t miss it at all.

      2. That is so great to hear – I felt the same way when I went off.
        There was something about it that didn’t feel genuine to me. It felt like something I had to do rather than wanted, and I’ve not regretted for a second being off of it.
        I’m happy I found another facebookless foreigner!
        ~Andrea<3

      3. For me, not something I had to do but more out of boredom and just mindless action, I would check it repeatedly. This is just a few months break, however. I kind of wanted to focus on only myself right now, so I think Facebook is poisonous right now.

Leave a Reply

