Slow and Steady Wins The Race.

I know I am hard on myself. I am always angry at myself for some or other reason and I just can’t find it in me to relax and enjoy… whatever.

It’s been almost a year since I’ve been trying to do something about my weight. At most, I had lost 16 kilograms. At present, I am 12 kilograms lighter. If you’ve been following my rants about my perfectly average life, you will notice I’ve been struggling since LITERALLY January, 2nd. And here I thought 2013 would be my best year yet given how happy and successful I was at the end of 2012. Well, life surprises you and gives you curve balls. I am more than six months into the year, but it’s definitely not too late to make it count.

My greatest goals in life are to find a boyfriend/husband and to lose weight. I can’t decide which one is in the lead and because of this, it makes it hard. I have tried to pursue both at the same time, and it was a disaster. I am the girl that puts her whole heart and soul into someone. I would say that I am a good friend, but when it comes to men – I will go to the ends of the earth for you. I do this because I care but mostly because I want you to want me and I want you to stay with me. This leads to me neglecting myself – the worst thing when you’re trying to lose weight and or change your life.

I feel a sense of relief today. As I’ve thought about how I am, how hard I am on myself and how I tend to hate myself when I fail – I’ve decided it’s time to take a different approach. For the past year, it’s been all or nothing. I’ve put so so so much pressure on myself to be the perfect person. I decided that when I would change my life, it would be all or nothing and at 100%. I wanted to eat well, exercise but also wanted to be the model Christian, not sleep around, not go on dates, not smoke or drink. When I would stray, well that would be it – I’d feel gross. It also made it that much more appealing to just binge out on everything – food, sex, alcohol etc because I was lacking in it all.

My new approach is to be less hard on myself and to do anything and everything – in moderation. I’m not going to try and reach these perfect ideals any more. I want to live a healthy life and have fun at the same time – and that means going to the gym often, eating my fruit and vegetables, lean meat, low fat dairy and drinking lots of water, but also going on dates, having that packet of chips if I want it, drinking once a week and smoking if I want to. If I don’t condemn myself when I slip up, I am not under all that much pressure. This week has been good, I’ve eaten well and exercised and had the occasional cigarette. I went to gym, and after 30 minutes I was feeling shattered, so I went home. I was angry at myself that I didn’t finish that last 5 minutes on the bike, but as I left, I started to feel good. The point was – that I was working hard and I was there. I am almost starting at scratch fitness wise, and my effort was commendable. Last night, I had a packet of chips and a tub of ramen noodles. But the most important thing is that I did not over do it, as I usually do. And every day I am showing up less and less on the scale.

It’s important for me to remember, that no matter which approach I take – the Nazi girl or the liberal girl who does things in moderation – I am still changing my life and I am still losing. Slow and steady wins the race.

Published by

Korea, Love and Longing

South African with a passion for writing, photography... and nothing much else. I travel the world in order to find the country I like the best. Four years in South Korea makes me a winning survivor of Google translate and charades. Currently, living in Spain. - Love

4 thoughts on “Slow and Steady Wins The Race.”

  1. You’re doing good. Focus on you, and the rest will follow, or so i’ve been told. Easiest way I’ve found to get rid of that need/want/longing for a boyfriend/husband is to keep busy. Make friends of all genders, and actually spend time with them doing things. Go on a group tour or make dinner together, talk, or just go shopping together. Learn to bond with people and then it becomes easier to build a real romantic relationship with someone down the line. (I’m not saying with your friends, but once you learn to know someone, you’ll have an easier time not just jumping into things with people.)

    I’m going to keep my fingers crossed for you that you can quit smoking, just because it’s bad for your health, even if it takes you awhile to quit.

    And 2013 IS going to be your year, until 2014, and then that will be your year. Just because that big thing you’ve been hoping for hasn’t happened yet doesn’t mean there still isn’t a chance. There’s always a chance.

Leave a Reply

