My Birthday, A New Beginning.

Today is my birthday and it feels like the beginning of a new year for me. A new chapter, a new start. I’ve realized there is a lot that is dysfunctional in my life and I am going to change those things. I’ve done it before and I will do it again. As they say “It’s not about how many times you fall, it’s how many times you get back up.” Tonight, I am having dinner with 5 of my girl friends and as from tomorrow, I am going straight for all the things I have ever wanted in life. Some may say I am not 100% committed because “on Tuesday” sounds like an excuse. Truth is, diving into things without having a plan and without getting your head right, will result in lack of success (for me). I’ve written down exactly what I want to achieve, how I want to achieve it. My biggest goal being 6 months, when I fly home to South Africa.

I had a birthday party this past weekend, and after my friend embarrassed me, slapped me in the face, hurt all of my friends’ feelings and was, quite frankly, a big disrespectful douche – I realized that this could not have come at a better time. As I wean out the bad habits, why not wean out the bad people, too. As my heart bleeds for my friend, I was his last standing friend in the world because of how rude and bitter he as become. At the same time, a friend is not a friend if they hurt your feelings and do the things he did over the weekend. 

I’ll be blogging a lot more now, throughout my journey. I hope you’ll follow me and give me some encouragement. It’s time to work hard and get everything I ever wanted.

Published by

Korea, Love and Longing

South African with a passion for writing, photography... and nothing much else. I travel the world in order to find the country I like the best. Four years in South Korea makes me a winning survivor of Google translate and charades. Currently, living in Spain. - Love

2 thoughts on “My Birthday, A New Beginning.”

  1. Hi – I don’t know you at all but I have to say, finding your blog and reading it has really struck me deeply. I am a plus size woman, living in the US and I just wanted to tell you that no matter what your size, you are beautiful. There is nothing wrong with wanting to get healthy and feel comfortable in your body but you should love yourself regardless because you are more than a number on a scale. There is no one in the world like you. And that’s an incredible thing. And when you love yourself, you will be motivated to be the best person you can be. It all starts within. You can’t change the outside without working on the inside. I was going to email you but don’t see any contact info on here. I invite you to check out my blog and if you ever need some comforting and positive words, please email me at marcyc19@gmail.com. I am here always. Take care and don’t be so hard on yourself. You can do it. We’re all human and make mistakes but what matters is that we learn the lesson and keep moving on. Good luck to you! http://www.fearlesslyjustme.blogspot.com

  2. Hi!

    Thank you sincerely for this message. It makes me feel as though my feelings are legitimate, and I am a person that deserves the time of day.

    Today, I am making changes. I think I wouldn’t be on this journey or at least want this journey unless I knew I deserved love and to be happy. The trick is to continue to remember that.

    I want to follow your blog, but unfortunately I am not a member of blogspot – do you have a wordpress?

    Thank you again, your words mean very much to me.

Leave a Reply

