Me Me Me.

I’ve now lost 7.3 (16 lbs) in three weeks. I was aiming for 8, but it’s still a great achievement. I’ve set myself some goals – one of which to delete my dating profiles and my Facebook.

I removed my Facebook because, although I like to complain that I am lonely at times, it’s just another added drama that I don’t want in my life right now. I know I have a job that requires me to sit at a desk for hours each day, but that doesn’t mean I have to sit on Facebook for hours (which I do). I know that it’s an addiction so while I am practicing self-control, I am also ridding myself from drama and other peoples’ issues.

My last status said that I was deactivating my account and my best friends’ sister commented something horrible. We have that kind of relationship so I wasn’t deeply offended but two of my friends said something about it, and it basically would of spiraled into an argument on MY status – I just don’t have the energy for it, especially when – for the first time in my life, this is the time for ME. Selfishly, I don’t want any part of any ones drama, problems, issues or bitchiness. I don’t need to fill my nights with talking to men whom I barely know, just to entertain myself or sit on Facebook and read about other peoples’ lives.

I’ve avidly been watching The Biggest Loser and it’s my piece of inspiration. So many of the contestants at the end proclaim that it’s about taking that time for yourself – and that’s what this is. Instead of random banter and Facebook in the evenings, I have been working out.

I started with a cardio exercise I found on YouTube and 3/4 way through – I felt bored. I was staring at the screen, copying this person and thought – you know what, I love modern dance – I did it for 10 years when I was younger – let me get a workout by doing modern dance for 40 minutes. By doing that, I was having fun and working out. The 3/4 went faster than the first 1/4. I am taking out a gym contract on Friday and hope to start speed walking and jogging on the treadmill.

My goals include not dating until I reach a certain weight, reaching 9 kg in 4 weeks, not reactivating Facebook until I get to over 10 kg, drinking twice a month instead of 4 times a month, quit smoking – which I have really succeeded in and saving for my studies and a trip home in August.

Life seems better when you’re working towards something.

Published by

Korea, Love and Longing

South African with a passion for writing, photography... and nothing much else. I travel the world in order to find the country I like the best. Four years in South Korea makes me a winning survivor of Google translate and charades. Currently, living in Spain. - Love

2 thoughts on “Me Me Me.”

  1. Congrats! You should focus on “doing you.” Nobody should matter at this stage in your life because they would just be distracting if not adding. Go after what you want and reach your goal. I lost 5 dress sizes and have not regained it back..it’s now 2 years. 3 words for you: FOCUS. Stay HAPPY and Reach your GOAL! I’m new here and author to STARTING OVER. Feel free to like and follow my blog. Chat later.

  2. I totally agree. I’ve really changed my point of focus in the last three weeks. Every time I break up with a boyfriend I say I am going to join a gym and do this and that – this time, I am actually doing it, for ME! Bringing anyone new into my life would probably lessen my desire to work on myself – so it’s just not happening.

Leave a Reply

