What I Do Have.

Someone on my Facebook timeline (that does annoy me because of her positive attitude all of the time) posted this status today: “We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.” – and it’s true. I don’t recognize and appreciate what I do have often enough, so I thought today’s post would be about what wonderful things I do have.

Family – although I am not with them in South Africa, they are always one call, text, IM, Skype (anything!) away. I cannot speak more highly of my mother. When I am at ends wits ready to cry or complain that I have no one to listen to me, or be there for me – that is me lying, because my mother loves me and consoles me unconditionally. I have two wonderful brothers, who are nothing like each other. One, is kind and caring but also takes no nonsense. He is always ready to lend me a ear, but also quick enough to tell me to raise my chin and get on with it  – which is also good, at times. My oldest brother has a 22 month old baby who is the light of my life and who, these days, I feel can only put on a huge, genuine smile on my face. He is a blessing.

Friends – I may not have many, and who would of thought the two that would be there the most for me, would be sitting here in South Korea with me. They are literally a call away, and always there for me. I have a best friend back home, and although she isn’t very good at talking about feelings, I know that we will be best friends for life. I can say that with utmost sincerity. Yes, I have lost friends along the way, ones that I thought meant something to me and that I had had for a good amount of years – but they’re gone for a reason.

Opportunity – My parents gave me the biggest gift and paid for all of my five years at University. I sit here today, debt free with a job that I could only have gotten with my degree. I am thankful to them. I also have the opportunity to live and work in a different country and experience a culture that still never ceases to amaze/surprise or shock me. I also have the opportunity to pay for and do my own postgraduate studies here in Korea.

My health and the health of others – I am healthy, and alive and so is everyone who has ever meant anything to me. I have never suffered loss and I am so thankful for that.

Nature – it is everywhere you go. Coupled with that, the ability to capture it.

And to end off – all of the basic needs – my parents were always able to provide for me: shelter, food, love and education. I am now able to sustain my own shelter, food and education as well as live independently on my own in this strange country.

Published by

Korea, Love and Longing

South African with a passion for writing, photography... and nothing much else. I travel the world in order to find the country I like the best. Four years in South Korea makes me a winning survivor of Google translate and charades. Currently, living in Spain. - Love

4 thoughts on “What I Do Have.”

  1. Isn’t it crazy when you start to think like that? I mean, I don’t think anyone can keep it up…or maybe that’s just me..but it’s good to every so often think about those things. Someone had a quote on Twitter the other day, it was something like “the things you are cursing are the same things someone else is praying for.” or something like that; my mind immediately went to the sink full of dishes. It can be something to clean up, or something to see as a sign that things are pretty darn good. I really enjoyed reading this 🙂

    1. Thanks so much for your comment. Loved it!
      In actuality, I’m in a bad place at the moment and writing this didn’t really make me feel any better. I wondered “is that all?” but I know that is just because of how I’ve been feeling lately. It’s good for me to write down, because I can always go back and look at it.

      Great analogy about the sink full of dishes, and you are so right. Also, the thing I am cursing – other people are praying for. Thank you for putting it in that light. You are so right, and I am blessed!

      Look forward to reading your posts!

      1. I’m looking forward to reading more of yours as well! I sometimes think of writing like that as a time-delay sort of joy. It never hits me right away. And then, later on, unexpected, I’m suddenly not pissed and angry at the world. Like magic sometimes, other times, it can take awhile to kick in 🙂

      2. Yeah. I started this blog about 4-5 weeks ago. I started it because I was in a bad place, and I still seem to be. Most of my posts aren’t too inspirational right now, but hope to be more so in the future.

Leave a Reply

